Same-sex Marriage Bans Upheld


Last week, the U.S. Court of Appeals 6th circuit court in Cincinnati voted 2-1 to uphold same-sex marriage bans in four states: Michigan, Ohio, Kentucky, and Tennessee.

The two judges making up the majority, Jeffrey S. Sutton and Deborah L. Cook, argued that social issues such as same sex marriage should be determined by the voters of states and not by judges.

The dissenting opinion, written by Martha Craig Daughtrey, called for the judiciary, “To right fundamental wrongs left excused by a majority of the electorate.”

This ruling comes in the wake of a series of decisions in favor of same sex marriage. After the US Supreme Court refused to rule on any marriage cases in this term, Federal Appeals Courts in Virginia, Indiana, Wisconsin, Oklahoma, Utah, Nevada, and Idaho struck down similar bans. Furthermore, the Obama Administration and Justice Department moved to recognize same-sex couples in states such as Alaska, Arizona, and North Carolina. Same sex couples in these states are now eligible for federal benefits.

There are no comments

Add yours